top of page

The challenges of breast feeding

| “In the UK, more than 73% of mothers start breastfeeding.”

As a mum of two, I have breastfed both of my beautiful children. I can say there are many challenges that come with wanting what is best for your baby. Let’s have a look at the challenges that can occur from day one.

From the moment I bought my first little darling into the world, my fears and worries had kicked in! How do I breastfeed my baby properly? How do I know she is latched on and getting enough milk? Be reassured, your midwife will help you, and your maternal instincts will be in full swing. The very first challenge we all must over come is the dreaded sore nipples! Yes, I know, as you’re reading this you’re probably squirming in pain just thinking about it. For the first 2-3 days, I was in so much pain, I told my midwife I can’t do it and I nearly forgot that I CAN do it. I have just pushed a baby out... if I can do that, I can do anything. To all you new mummies out there that are struggling with this issue; 1. The pain will disappear in no more than 5 days. 2. I have something for you that will make your life in the mean time so much easier...

This nipple cream, I swear by! It is a little pricey but worth it! If you’re in hospital reading this, then ask the midwife if they have any. They will give you a couple of sachets to see you through. (if you have a lovely midwife as I did, she will give you a huge handful like I got, BONUS!)

Click HERE to view!

| “In the UK, more than 73% of mothers start breastfeeding.”

Low milk supply.

Low milk supply can occur and this can be a worrying thought for parents. Here are a few ways to make sure that your baby is getting enough milk:

  • Check your baby’s weight weekly.

  • Feed until your baby is ready to come off.

  • Make sure baby is latched on properly (this can cause you to think baby isn’t getting enough milk, due to baby crying.)

  • Offer both breasts to baby every feeding time

  • Avoid giving baby formula in the first 6 months, this can cause your milk supply to become low.

Check with your doctor for any health issues, such as hormonal issues or primary breast insufficiency, if the above steps don't help. Sometimes it occurs were some women just can’t breastfeed. Don’t let yourself become upset by this, you had good intentions and even though you wanted to breastfeed, just remember formula is out there. A lot of formulas have now been developed and changed over the years, to try and make it just as good as breast milk (although may not have all the health benefits), so don’t be afraid to change to formula. (I had to as both of my children didn’t feed for long due to low milk supply)

Breast feeding myths!

Myth: "Breastfeeding will make my breasts sag".

Fact: Breastfeeding doesn't cause your breasts to sag, but pregnancy hormones can stretch the ligaments that support your breasts. Wear a well-fitting bra while you're pregnant.

 

Myth: "People don't like to see women breastfeeding in public."

Fact: Most people don't mind. The more it's seen, the more normal it will become. The law protects women from being asked to leave a public space while breastfeeding.

 

Myth: "My nipples are flat or even inverted, so I won't be able to breastfeed."

Fact: Nipples come in all sorts of shapes and sizes. Holding your baby skin-to-skin after birth will help them find the best way to attach themselves. Your baby breastfeeds, not nipple feeds, so if they can get a good mouthful of breast they should be able to feed perfectly happily.

 

Myth: “Babies don’t need breast milk once they start solid foods at about six months.”

Fact: Breastfeeding still has lots of benefits for you and your baby after six months. It protects them from infections and there’s some evidence that it helps them to digest solid foods. It also continues to provide the balance of nutrients they need. The World Health Organization recommends that all babies are breastfed for up to two years or longer.

 

Thank you for reading my article. Be sure to like my Facebook page for more insightful blogs!

Stephanie's Bambinos <3

All information stated above, is derivative from my own personal experiences and opinions.

Additional Information sourced from the NHS website.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page